Short Sheeted at Face Value


One of my favorite places to shop is the local thrift store. I find great bargains and my purchases help support those in need. One day in the boutique section of the store where they sell higher end items, I found a brand new, brightly colored sheet and pillowcase. The striped fabric was dyed in vibrant shades of fuchsia, gold, orange and purple. The set was very pretty but I didn’t really need it nor did it match anything in my house. However, the price tag caught my eye. They had marked it as $12 but the original purchase price said MSR 499.00. What a deal! Even though I didn’t need it, how could I pass up such a valuable purchase?

When I got the linen home, I looked at the tag again. I saw the letters “Rs.” in front of the amount. I hadn’t noticed those letters in the store because my eyes were stuck on 499.00. I looked up “Rs.” on the internet and found that it stood for Indian Rupees. The US equivalent: eight dollars! I had paid more for the sheet set than it cost when it was new.

I bought the linen because I thought it had great value based upon the price tag. It had face value. As a mom in search of parenting wisdom, I have also been enticed by parenting philosophies because they were popular or were espoused by someone who had a row of initials behind their name.  They had face value. Sometimes this “wisdom” comes in packages whose contents we don’t really need and aren’t as valuable as they appeared on the surface.

Perhaps you too are looking for wisdom to be the best mom you can be. While wisdom can come from many sources, true and unchanging wisdom comes from God through His word.  And it doesn’t cost anything but time and a teachable spirit.

What is some of the most useful parenting advice you’ve been given, whether it was from the Bible, your mother or anyone else?

6 thoughts on “Short Sheeted at Face Value

  1. Some of the best advice I’ve been given is to raise a child the way they should go and they won’t depart from it…even though they may take a detour God will make sure that they walk out our teachings. It gives me great relief to trust God to honor this word while encouraging me to always focus on teaching my kids the way they should live.

    • You remind me that raising children takes wisdom, stamina and fortitude. But most of all, it takes faith to remember God’s promise that if we do our part, he will do His.

  2. Loved this entry! What a great reminder that we shouldn’t buy into what the latest “expert” has to tell us…about anything!

  3. The best ‘wisdom’ I was given, was to keep my sense of humor, when at all possible!:)
    I have always struggled with what ‘good’ wisdom is…then I read in James 3:17 ‘But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peaceloving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere’…and that pretty much said it all.

Leave a Reply

