Showers of Blessings


“I will bless them and the places surrounding my hill. I will send down showers in season; there will be showers of blessing.” (Ezekiel 34:26)

Have you noticed the stillness before the rain—when all the oaks and daffodils wait expectantly for the promised shower? When the clouds release their blessing, every green thing lifts up their hands in thankfulness, receiving the blessing they knew would come.

Are you waiting in stillness for God’s blessing? Or are you running around in angst, doing rain dances, trying to pull the blessings down? Maybe you’re not accustomed to trusting promises. Maybe you’ve been disappointed one time too many.

Trusting in God and his promises is much different from trusting in the promises of man. People make promises to us and we to them. And despite our best intentions, promises do get broken because they are made by imperfect people. But when God says “trust me”, He is making a promise to you that will be delivered. He is perfect, truthful and faithful. So when you read scriptures such as; “All your sons will be taught by the Lord, and great will be your children’s peace. . .This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and this is their vindication from me,” declares the Lord. (Isaiah 54:13,17); know that God is a Promise Keeper and you can wait for his blessings in quiet and confident stillness.

Photo courtesy Microsoft Images

7 thoughts on “Showers of Blessings

  1. I believe the older I have gotten, the more I understand that I can exhaust myself doing ‘rain dances’…but God has His timing, and it is perfect…so, no more ‘rain dancing’…instead alot of ‘joy’ dancing while I wait!
    Thank you for this beautiful scripture, and the continued reminder to dance in joy, not in want!

  2. Our devotion this morning was about waiting for things in God’s time; and asking Him, along the way, if “this” is what He desires for our day. Pulling down blessings is a convicting word picture! love you!

    • Yes Susan. I don’t know about you but sometimes I run around trying to fix or create things without going to God first. Then I find myself overloaded and exhausted. But I’m getting better at catching myself and getting on my knees first. Thank you so much for your comment.

Leave a Reply

