You, A Work of Art


Portrait of the artis's mother

Image via Wikipedia

Do you remember the song by Stevie Wonder with the lyrics that go, “Isn’t she lovely? Isn’t she wonderful?” In my early years as a mother, there were days when I didn’t feel wonderful and I definitely didn’t feel lovely.  I felt lost and ill equipped to be a mother. On days like that when I could find a babysitter, I’d visit the Huntington Museum in nearby Pasadena, California.

One section of the museum show cased paintings by the Masters. The paintings were so beautiful: rich reds, deep greens and textures painted so vividly that it seemed if I touched them, I could actually feel the fibers. Sometimes the beauty of these works would bring me to tears. How could any mere human create such works of beauty? These paintings helped to brighten my spirits.

This morning I was reading in Ephesians 2:10 that we are God’s workmanship. It hit me that if artists, who are mere humans, can create such awesome works of beauty, how much more beautifully has God created us.

You are a mother designed with rich color and dimension by the paint strokes of the Master Artist who doesn’t make mistakes. You are a precious work of art. God made you that way. And he ordained your role as a mother. Believe this, even on days when you don’t feel beautiful or valued. You are a treasure shining in God’s treasure chest. You are important to him. You are of supreme value and beauty to your children, even when no one says so.

Leave a Reply

